The minimum wage and daily overtime requirements for Nevada will not change for the new year beginning July 1, 2015 according to the state Labor Commissioner’s annual bulletin. The minimum wage rates will remain $7.25 per hour with qualified health benefits and $8.25 without qualified health benefits. The overtime rates will remain $10.875 for employees who receive health benefits and $12.375 for employees who do not. Employees who earn less than $12.375 per hour who do not receive qualified health benefits must be paid overtime whenever they work more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period in addition to the over 40 hours in a workweek.
South Dakota Governor Daugaard has signed into law S.B. 177 which allows employers to pay employees under the age of 18 a reduced minimum wage of $7.50. This amount is not subject to the annual minimum wage adjustment. The new law takes effect on July 1. It also prohibits employers from displacing any employee, including a partial displacement through a reduction in hours, wages or employment benefits, in order to hire an employee at the reduced youth rate.
New York’s Acting Labor Commissioner Mario J. Musolino issued an Order on February 24, 2015, responding to the report and recommendations of the 2014 Hospitality Wage Board, accepting many of the Board’s recommendations including the highest ever wage for tipped workers in New York—$7.50 per hour effective December 31, 2015.
Tipped workers are paid a required base rate. Their tips added to that base pay must equal or exceed the minimum wage.
The Department of Labor accepted the following recommendations from the Wage Board:
Uniform tip amounts and criteria for all tipped workers in the hospitality industry, so that the same rates apply to food service workers, service employees and service employees in resort hotels.
Increase the tipped cash wage amounts from their current rates of $4.90, $5.00 and $5.65, which have not increased since 2011, to $7.50 per hour, effective December 31, 2015.
If the legislature enacts a separate minimum wage rate for New York City, then the cash wage for such workers must be increased by $1, effective on the date that such separate minimum wage rate for New York City takes effect.
A review of whether the system of cash wages and tip credits should be eliminated.
The District of Columbia Department of Employment Security has announced via its website that the recent amendments to the District’s wage-hour law contained in the Wage Theft Prevention Act of 2015 are expected to take effect on February 26, 2015. The legislation is still pending approval by Congress. Among the amendments includes the requirement that employers provide a written statement of wage information to employees. The initial notice must contain:
- The employer’s name
- Any “doing business as” names used by the employer
- Physical address of the employer’s main office or principal place of business
- Employer’s mailing address
- Employer’s telephone number
- Employee’s rate of pay and the basis of that rate (by the hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission)
- Any allowances claimed as part of the minimum wage: tip, meal, or lodging allowances
- The employee’s overtime rate of pay
- Exemptions from overtime pay
- Living wage
- Exemptions from the living wage
- Applicable prevailing wages
The notice must be furnished to employees both in English and in the employee’s primary language, and must be signed and dated by the employer and the employee. The employer must then retain copies of all the notices furnished to the employee for at least three years. The mayor is supposed to provide a model notice for employers to use.